About CSS

About Us

Influencing tomorrow’s world

About College
of Social Sciences


National Chengchi University’s College of Social Sciences (CSS) used to be part of the College of Law. In 1993 the CSS became independent with the aim of promoting teaching and research in the social sciences, and to provide lifelong education and social services. The CSS comprises seven departments, three graduate institutes, and four programs. They are, in the chronological order of their establishment, the Department of Political Science, the Department of Sociology, the Department of Public Finance, the Department of Public Administration, the Department of Land Economics, the Department of Economics, the Department of Ethnology, the Graduate Institute of Development Studies (formerly the Sun Yat-sen Graduate Institute of Social Sciences and Humanities), the Graduate Institute for Labor Research, the Graduate Institute of Social Work, the International Master’s Program in Asia-Pacific Studies (IMAS), the International Doctoral Program in Asia-Pacific Studies(IDAS), the International Master’s Program of Applied Economics and Social Development (IMES), and Professional Master in Land Economics. In order to train senior civil servants and provide individuals with continuing education, a Master for Eminent Public Administrators(MEPA) program was established. With its long history, outstanding faculty, and first-rate study environment, the CSS is National Chengchi University’s (NCCU) flagship college. In addition to the specialized training offered by the various departments and graduate institutes, the CSS stresses the development of core competencies through integration of the social sciences and interdisciplinary studies to enhance students’ competitiveness. The college is committed to providing the highest social sciences education available internationally. To this end, the CSS offers exceptional learning programs including English-taught courses, student exchange programs, summer programs, and off-campus programs. The CSS has flourished under the distinguished leadership of its successive deans, energetic and friendly faculty, and motivated students. The current dean of the CSS is Prof. Wan-Ying YANG from the Department of Political Science, and the associate dean is Prof. Tzu-Chin LIN from the Department of Land Economics, Prof. Chung-Min TSAI, the Department of Political Science, and Prof. Kuang Ta LO from the Department of Public Finance.

Location and Map

College of Social Sciences is located in the General Building of Colleges.